I also hate celery

A few days behind, but there’s a wonderful article in Salient that pretty much sums up how I feel about the whole same-sex marriage/adoption thing.

[W]hen I’m gay-writing about gay rights all I can think about is my girlfriend. We have one of the most boringly normal relationships ever. We spend our weekends trying to decide whether we, as two hollandaise-loving lesbians, think Floriditas really has taken out Aro Cafe for the coveted title of best Wellington brunch spot. Recently we’ve started getting our groceries delivered and it’s working really well for us. We love This American Life and we sing along to television theme songs so that by the time we’ve finished the box set we’ve perfected the harmonies. When I write about gay rights I think about how much I love her. And then I think about how we live in a country that considers our relationship to be lesser, just because there are two vaginas involved.

Go read the whole thing. It’s not long, but it’s totally worth it.

Leave a Reply

