In which I feel I must clarify myself

by Mr Wainscotting

In my last post, I blogged about the same-sex couple wanting to attend their school ball changing the name and details of the Facebook page. I’ve been ruminating on it for a few days, and I’m worried that my support for the boys didn’t show through enough in my writing.

I want to emphasise that I fully support them and their campaign to see all same-sex couples in all schools allowed to attend their formals, without the schools making excuses for their bigotry.

Furthermore, I wish to apologise for temporarily removing my name from the cause (see third to last paragraph on my post. It was something I did before the whole story had been made clear, when it did look like it was all a hoax. And I feel that some of the things I posted on the page, though said with the best of intentions, may have inadvertently fanned the flames, for which I am sorry.

With all the vitriol flying around on that page, it’s easy to lose hope that we can change this world for the better. It’s not often that such bigotry and hate makes itself so visible, but it goes to show just how deep it runs.

I wish those boys all the best, and hope they’re surrounded by enough love and support to see them through – and I wish to extend that to everyone facing such discrimination, both institutional and from their peers.

Leave a Reply

