Why I blog the things I blog

by Mr Wainscotting

Here at missing sparkles, we think that the world can be a better place for all the queer, bi, trans, lesbian, gay, asexual, intersex, takatāpui, fa’afafine, and otherwise fabulous people, and that we will eventually get there if we don’t shut up about it. (Well, I certainly do, though I’m sure the others will concur; they’d probably word it differently.)

But when talking about it, I’m often confronted with otherwise well-intentioned people asking things like “why do you keep going on about it?” or “didn’t you already get gay rights and stuff?” or my personal favourite from the less well-intentioned, “but aren’t there bigger things to worry about?

Today, a friend of mine reblogged a picture on Tumblr that pretty much summed it up. This is why, in 2011, we have to “keep going on about it”:

I can’t find the original source of the picture, so I don’t know where this event is. From left to right, here’s what the signs they’re holding say:

  • I am afraid to hold my boyfriend’s hand.
  • My friend’s parents sent her away.
  • I found death threats in my locker.
  • I submitted to electroshock therapy.
  • I lost half my friends after coming out.
  • My grandmother sends me hate mail.
  • My school won’t let me take my date to prom.
  • I am not here anymore. [on an easel, not held]
  • My dad tried to beat it out of me.
  • No one is proud of me.

Death threats and beatings for no other reason than existing is a pretty fucking big thing, one that we should all worry about if we are going to pretend we live in a good world. This still happens, and it happens everywhere.

And it’s precisely why I’ll never shut up.

2 thoughts on “Why I blog the things I blog

  1. I love how you are so passionate about this topic and what you blog about. Blogging is a perfect way to connect with other people who feel the same way. I can tell from your writing you are eager to make a difference and that is awesome! I recently launched http://www.whyiblog.com as a way for people to share their stories and read about others. I would love to hear what you have to say. Pretty awesome that NY recently allowed gay marriage :-)

  2. Great post. I wonder if some people get that blogging isn’t always ‘fun’. It takes a lot of effort to blog regularly and deal with trolls and just generally nasty people. But it’s important to blog about these issues. I’m so glad there are bloggers out there like you who are making sure we think about and talk about these issues. Thank-you for your service!

Leave a Reply

